Book your place with:

Get in touch

t: 0131 220 5999

Sporting CP 2015

Saturday 6th June was a special date in the Football Aid 2015 calendar as it saw Sporting Clube de Portugal make history by becoming the 1st ever Liga NOS club to host a Football Aid game!

Date: Saturday 6th June 2015
Venue: Jose Alvalade Stadium, Lisbon
Sporting CP (Home) vs Sporting CP (Away)
Kick Off: 10:30 am

The game kicked off in glorious sunshine and it didn’t take long to come to life, with Home striker Robert Green’s well taken early strike seeing him make history and score the 1st ever Football Aid goal in Portugal!

The watching Lions fans were treated to an incredible end to end game throughout, with long range goals from Andy Harland, Fabrizio Galasso and Terry Rickeard standing out as particular highlights.

With the scores all square and time running out, it looked like ending in a draw….however the Sporting Home team continued to press for the winner and their last minute goal sparked joyous scenes on the touchline and allowed them to take the honours 8-7!

Our 1st ever event in Lisbon had proved a fantastic success, with our fans doing themselves proud and providing great entertainment throughout. After some quick on-pitch interviews with the Sporting CP TV the players left the pitch all smiles and looking forward to some much needed refreshments!

Huge thanks to José Quintela and the Sporting CP Foundation for their brilliant support, we hope to see you all again next year!

Full time: Sporting CP (Home) 8 - 7 Sporting CP (Away)

Man of the Match (Home): Hernani Estevão
Man of the Match (Away): Fabrizio Galasso
Moment of the Match: Andy Harland and Terry Rickeard

Home Team: Frederico Lima, Duarte Rico, Jose Quintela, Andrew Lumsden, Ravindra Gaunencar, Nuno Costa, Fabio Moutinho Pereira, Diogo Brehm, Robert Green, Hernani Estevão, Maique da Silva, Ricardo Matos, Hugo Casimiro (C), Miguel Soares, José Miguel Jorge
Home Mascots: Gonçalo Gaunencar and João Costa

Away Team: Adam Joyce, Isidoro Moita, Robert Thorpe, Nazzareno Busti, Fabrizio Galasso, Tony O'Hara, Andrea Massari (C), James Smith, Mark Beare, Terry Rickeard, Tiago Sousa, Simon Joyce, Diogo Casimiro, Andrew Harland